The roots of four-man Chicago vocal group The Artistics go back to their high school days in the late-‘50s, and within a few short years they were performing at the 1960 Democratic National Convention and backing up R&B legend Major Lance on his Top 10 hit single “The Monkey Time.” By the time they joined Brunswick Records for a 5-album run that lasted from 1967 to 1973 they were primed for major success, and they did just that with the Top 10 R&B smash, “I’m Gonna Miss You.” They followed that up with the equally catchy “Girl I Need You,” which broke through the R&B Top 40 in 1967, and charted with two more singles over the next few years. Fans of “Northern Soul” in the United Kingdom continue to keep the music of The Artistics alive, and the recordings they made during their tenure at Brunswick still sound as fresh & vibrant today as they did when they first hit the airwaves all those years ago.


I'm Gonna Miss You (1967)

Im Gonna Miss YouBuy on Amazon

    I’m Gonna Miss You (1967)

  1. Sweeter Than Sugar
  2. Glad I Met You
  3. There Is No Sadness
  4. Love Song
  5. Hope We Have
  6. I’m Gonna Miss You
  7. Girl I Need You
  8. I’ll Always Love You
  9. It’s Gonna Be Alright
  10. Why Why Why
  11. You’re Wonderful
  12. On And On

What Happened (1969)

What HappenedBuy on Amazon

    What Happened (1969)

  1. What Happened (To The Love We Had)
  2. The Price Of Love
  3. Yesterday’s Girl
  4. When I’m Not Around
  5. Why Did She Have To Leave Me (Why Did She Have To Go)
  6. Walking Tall
  7. I Wish You Love
  8. What The World Needs Now Is Love
  9. With These Hands
  10. That Lucky Old Sun

Translate »